6 Reasons Why Twitter is my Favorite News Source

We the people of the US rely on the media (social and broadcast) to inform us with correct, unbiased news. However, the social network Twitter is my new information website source. Why? Well here are 10 reasons why I prefer Twitter over watching the news.

6. The ‘Tending’ section

Twitter has a section that updates latest news. This means any current entertainment, news info, or person can be “tending.” All you have to do is put a hastag (#) at the beginning or end of the Tweet. For instants, heat wave is tending. If you want to comment about how incredibly hot it is click on the #heatwave tend and type your opinion about the hot weather. 

Tends also cover hard news as well. Such as the Tryvon Martin vs. George Zimmerman case. After the verdict was announced Twitter exploded. ‘Florida’ was tending, #NotGuilty was tending, #PrayForTryvon was tending and many more similar topics. Tends are fun, but they let people state their opinion. https://twitter.com/i/discover

5. It Let’s people vent/state their peace

Another news tend that blow up Twitter was the Rolling Stone’s magazine cover. On the cover was a picture of Dzhokhar Tsarnaev. Now if you live under a rock hear is what happened, Tsarnaev was one of two people who planned the Boston Marathon Bombings back in April. Three people died and over 200 people were injured. Flash-forward to now The Rolling Stone Magazine profiled him in their latest issue. A lot of people were upset about this and put their opinions on Twitter. this issue was taken off the shelves of convenient stores across the nation. http://www.nytimes.com/2013/07/20/business/media/with-accused-bombers-selfie-rolling-stone-got-more-attention-than-it-may-have-wanted.html?_r=0

4. Who to follow

To connect with friends, family, local businesses, and even celebrities. Twitter give their members people and businesses to follow. So let’s say I like the morning radio show Z100 (I really do like Z100.) I would type in Z100 or Morning radio shows and the website would lead me to their Twitter page. Make sure popular businesses i.e. Z100 or YouTube etc. have check marks by their names. I say this because their might be fake accounts for celebrities or popular places. The check marks confirm this person/thing is the official Twitter page. 

3. You can post pretty much anything

I know that Twitter lets people post what they are doing now, later, in a few weeks, in a few months etc. But I use it to advertise yours truly! I post my blog Molly’s Weekly List on Twitter every week. I also post my blog on other social medias, but let’s stay on one subject.   I use Twitter to connect my thoughts with the public… and it works. 

2. You don’t have to watch TV for the news

Ever since I got a Twitter account I have been reading the news headlines and articles from my phone and tablet. Twitter makes being informed so much easier. No waiting for the 10 o’clock news, no commercials, no time is wasted. https://twitter.com/

1. Twitter let’s you customize who you want to follow

Almost like following people/places, Twitter suggest accounts their members could follow based on their description. For example: on my account I put I was a New York resident, a student, and a “future journalist.” Twitter suggested I follow The New York Times, Journal News, News 12 Westchester, and some colleges… and I did. 

Leave a Reply

