Songs that Make me Think

An earworm is a song that gets stuck inside your head for a long period of time. Usually it’s seen as a negative action, but some songs are worth remembering. 

Mirrors Justin Timberlake

The sound, the songs message, and the cinematography all are cohesive elements that make up a powerful musical piece. I think the message that Timberlake is singing about is when he sings, “It’s Like your my mirror, my mirror is staring back at me…” he means the person you loved or still love is a part of you. They are the reflection you see in the mirror, even though they are no longer there or no longer your love.

I also love it because it’s Justin Timberlake singing, and what girl doesn’t love him. 

Lose Yourself Eminem 

A workout song or a song that makes you think about doing your best. This song makes me feel strong. It raises my spirits, and it makes me believe I can do anything I put my mind to. Eminem had to define all the odds of becoming a rapper. In his movie 8 Mile he showed his struggle while living in Detroit and attending rap battles in underground clubs. The lyrics, “…You only get one shot, do not miss your chance to blow, this opportunity comes once in a lifetime…” which means you better do your damn best because you are not going to get another chance if you screw up. 

XO Beyonce 

A cute song to play in front of someone you adore or love. It has a good beat, I love the scenery, and Beyonce is singing (that’s always a plus.) XO is a short symbol for hugs and kisses- one of the lyrics in her song goes, “…Baby love me lights out, in the darkest night out, I search through the crowd, baby you give me everything, baby love me lights out…” It’s a great song for a wedding or if you are in a relationship. 

Wish You Were Here Pink Floyd 

This song makes whomever listening to it think-think about the person you lost, the person you never met. I never met my grandmother, she died one month before I was born. I lost my grandfather also when I was 13. He died at the hospital. So this song does deeper than just words mixed with musical instruments. Yet it does make me feel good because I know my grandparents are watching me where ever they may be. 

Same Love Macklemore & Ryan Lewis 

The first song for gay marriage, and one of the greatest songs I have ever heard. When I first hear this song I cried, such a beautiful song. This song maybe focused on gay marriage, but it’s bigger message is focused on human rights, people have every right to be with whomever makes them happy. 

What are songs that make you think, smile, cry, laugh, live? 

Leave a Reply

